At Year’s End

What a crazy, mixed up, nutso, hard and happy year it has been. Ups and downs….and more downs, and then ups…I am in many ways thankful that 2012 is drawing to a close, and a new year about to begin. I have some ideas of things that are hopefully going to happen in 2013, some things I am not sure about but wish to happen, and some bits that I am very apprehensive about. But overall, I feel a little like 2012 was a time for me to push forward through the fire, and see what was left when I came out on the other side. I am still here, and me, and loved, and content, and that, my friends, is something very special indeed.

Ian and I enjoyed the holidays here in our own home, just the two of us. Delicious rare treats were consumed…

Cinnamon buns

Nog
Ian Nog
Lissa Nog
…some consumed while also looking handsome…
Handsome
Our tree was trimmed with care, love, and all of the ornaments well out of kitteh-range…
Tree
…although it was fast evident that anything under the tree was fair game…
Chappy tree
The kitties were ballers, loving having their humans home for a good long while…
Chappy 2
Kitties
…and the humans each had the opportunity to spank each other at various board games.
Scrabble
(I got my ass handed to me in a game of Monopoly, but clearly Ian was feeling generous and so didn’t get a picture of me curled up in the fetal position on the living room floor, groaning and hitting the ground with my fists, crying, “Damn you Ventnor Ave, damn you all to hell!” into the night. Ah, Christmas.)

It was a different Christmas for us, to be sure, but of course if I was be able to only spend it with one person in the whole world, I couldn’t do much better than boyfriend 🙂

On to Christmas knitting!

I made my father a pair of socks (plain vanilla YarnHarlot pattern, but I made it in a thick brown tweed, so they ended up more like slippers than socks. Also, one ended up a slightly different size than the other, but I think Papa wouldn’t mind ;))

For John, my badass B-I-L, a neck warmer was suggested, so here’s what I came up with (or, Attack of the Neckwarmer: A Play in Five Acts):
Warmer 1

Warmer 2

Warmer 3

Warmer 4

Warmer 5
This is a pattern of my own doing, just pulling from various ones I found around the interwebs. I made the neckhole opening at the “top” narrower by doing some extra rounds of ribbing, so hopefully it worked out ok for Johnny-boy.

And finally, my chef d’oeuvre, my Ms. Michel’s Opus, what I have been waiting to show you all these long, long months. My favorite and best thing I have ever made (and my sister Sara is lucky that I love her, since I reaaaaaaaalllllly wanted to keep it for myself): The Beatnik Sweater.
Sweater
Closeup
Floor
Pattern
Deets:
Yarn: Rowan Lima, in a beautiful goldenrod colorway. Merino, alpaca, and nylon, this soft lovely sweater ended up taking about half a ball shy of 10 balls.
Needles: US size #8, US Size #6 straights/US size #6 16″ circular.
I loved working this pattern. It was slow going but such a joy to make. I feel like once I’ve come down off the knitting high I might get around to banging out one of these for myself some day :).

Cables
Back

I still owe a few hats, a scarf, and a pair of arm warmers, but we knitters work our own timeframe, people! I was selfish and made myself a little ear warmer thingie last week, as I was so pooped from everything that I just wanted to do something easy. I’ll post a picture of it soon, but it’s not really anything to write home about.

Now as we finally kick 2012 the curb and welcome 2013 with open arms, I’ll leave you with what has become my year-end mantra, on this third New Year’s blog entry of mine.

“May your food be primal and delicious, your workouts be fulfilling and challenging, and your knit projects be snag-free!”

Cheers to you all!

Lissa Ian Christmas

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in cats, cooking, Knitting, LOVE. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to At Year’s End

  1. saramcevoy1 says:

    I feel honored to own such a beautiful sweater! So gorgeous- thank you lissa!!!

Leave a Reply

