NA-NA-na-na-NA-NA-na-na-NANER BREAD!

Hi there.

What, you really thought I’d make it the whole month of September without one post? Ok, well you were almost correct but I made the most SCRUMPTIOUS, no sugar added, paleo ‘naner bread last night that I had to share.

I am not sharing a picture, because even though it tasted amazingly good, it looked amazingly like poop. True story.

I will be remaking this shortly for a little dinner party next week I’m hosting (read: inviting friends to my house so can I force myself to tidy up the place a bit/finish some curtains) and I think that they’re going to turn into ‘naner muffins for that, so stay tuned for some photos!

Paleo ‘Naner Bread/Muffins (yes, yes, BANANA)

Ingredients:

4 overripe bananas, mashed

4 eggs

2 cups almond flour

1/2 cup coconut flour

1/3 cup olive oil (regular and not extra virgin, otherwise your ‘naner bread will taste like a salad)

1 pinch salt

1 tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp cloves

Steps:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees Fahrenheit (whoa, spell check. Hold up. Um, am I the only one who didn’t know that “Fahrenheit” had a frickin’ H three letters in? Like, now I have to pronounce it ‘FAAAAAAH-ren-heit” until the end of time. Darn it.)
  2. In a bowl, mash the bananas with a fork (it’s ok if they’re still lumpy, they’ll smooth out in the cooking a bit). Add the eggs, oil, and spices, and stir to combine.
  3. Dump in almond and coconut flours, and mix like a crazy person. Maybe have some high-tempo muffin-stirring music on in the background to keep you going; I won’t judge*. Don’t worry about overdoing it, as there’s no gluten in either flour so you can’t mix it too much. It’s baking, without the science! 🙂
  4. If you’re making muffins, fill up your muffin cups until there’s nothing left (I imagine this will fill probably 16). If you’re making a loaf, this will make one loaf in a WELL, WELL-greased loaf pan (I used coconut oil).
  5. Throw in the oven for 45-50 minutes for the loaf, or 35-40 for the muffins. If you can press down on the surface of the loaf/muffin and it’s lightly brown and fairly resistant to your finger, it’s done.
  6. Take out, let cool, and enjoy!

In other news:

-Ian, myself, and 18 other peeps are doing this 9-week Paleo Challenge. For fun. Yeah.

But seriously, we get prizes, there’s competition involved, I get to still drink wine, and well, just go here and read for yourself.  http://www.lurongliving.com/challenge I will say though, that I am going to sugar-town on my birthday, which falls near the end of this 9 week period. So look for a post about upset tummy and amazing Technicolor GI issues the next day 😛

-Fall is here in the ‘Noogs, it’s quite nice, and I am glad we don’t have frost yet.

I still miss Maine’s leaves though.

-I did the benchmark “Randy” the other day for the first time RX (75 Snatches for time at 55 lbs). I am super pumped with my time of 4:01. I finished, however, and then proceeded to sneeze for about 30 minutes straight, and now two days later, I have a cold. I am a tissue-dominating machine right now. Ah well. Next time, sub-four!

*You’re welcome.

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NA-NA-na-na-NA-NA-na-na-NANER BREAD!

  1. epieton says:

    Great post! Can’t wait to try out the Naner bread. You did an awesome job on your benchmark WODs for the LL Challenge, too. 4:01 Randy!!?? Whoa!

  2. saramcevoy1 says:

    hahaha love the description of this naner-bread. can’t wait to try it ! i have never done Randy – sounds intense ! How did you break it up?

    • ahoytheship says:

      Hey girl! Randy was fun but yes, intense. Be prepared for burning forearms after!!! I did a set of 15, then two sets of 10, and then basically 7s after that. The key was taking short two-five second breaks, and then not stopping very much close to the end. Fun!

  3. Pingback: Where in the World is Lissa??? | boxstitchandboxjumps

Leave a Reply

