Paleo side dish: Curried Carrot Slaw

Well, I had to pop in and post the recipe for this delicious side side for all my peeps out there doing the Paleo/Primal thing. I have always love the taste of curry, especially with semi-sweet veggies like carrots, and I wanted to create a version of this slaw that was different from the mayo-laden ones I’ve had before. All I can say is SUCCESS! Ian doesn’t normally even like curry, and he’s gone back for seconds every time I’ve made this 🙂

Curried Carrot Slaw (Dairy/Sugar Free)

(makes 6 servings)

7 or 8 large organic carrots, julienned (I use the julienne setting on my mandolin slicer, but you can use an upright cheese grater as well, it will just take a bit longer. And PLEASE use the guard on your mandolin; I have the near-hospital-worthy injury story to prove it!)

1 half red onion, sliced as thin as you can

6 dried figs, diced

5 tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/4 extra virgin olive oil (you always want to use extra virgin in uncooked dishes)

1 tbsp curry powder

1 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp garam masala (another curry ingredient, you can find it with all the other spices at the store)

1/2 tsp powdered ginger

1 tbsp sea salt, coarse grind

1 tsp black pepper

Put all the ingredients in a large bowl, mix, and let sit in the fridge for a few hours. Enjoy!!!

The natural sweetness of the carrots is shown off wonderfully by the mix of the ginger, the cinnamon and cloves in the garam masala, and the chewy figs, but the savory flavor of the salt and the red onion balances it all out. This dish will last for a few days in the fridge, so double or triple the recipe to have on hand for healthy snacks. Carrot slaw also normally calls for raisins, but figs were what I had on hand, and I think texturally are a much more interesting addition in the raisin’s place.

I hope your family enjoys this as much as mine does!

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

