An Open Letter to My Trainees/Workout Partners/Gym Buddies

Dear CrossFit Friends/Supporters,

Thank you.

Thank you for your enthusiasm, your drive, your passion, and your willingness to try and (maybe) fail.

Thank you for letting me help to guide you along your fitness journey. I learn so much every single day that I have the pleasure of coaching a class.

Thank you for letting me know when I’m doing a good job and getting you where you need to go.

Thank you even more for letting me know that what I’m saying doesn’t make sense, that I’m not being forceful enough, or that I’m not being the impetus that you need to get you going. I treasure that feedback and please know that it does not go unnoticed.

Thank you for pushing me to my own limits, whether they be with metcons, rowing, getting one more rep in before the bell, no-repping me when I’m not quite there on my form, and for simply cheering at the sidelines. A little rah-rah, as you know, goes a long way.

Thank you for taking a good, solid hour out of your busy day to spend it devoted solely to bettering yourself. Thank you even more for allowing me to spend that precious time with you.

Thank you for making stepping through that gym door a highlight of my day.

Thank you for sharing in each other’s accomplishments, whether they be successes AND failures. An accomplished failure is a just a time that you tried the very hardest that you could, after all, and who can fault anyone for that!

Thank you for expanding my world view.

Thank you for allowing me to curse.

Thank you for subtly letting me know I now curse too much (I’m trying to cut back, I promise! :)).

Thank you for smiling, being silly, having fun, and dying laughing, all while getting our asses kicked.

Thank you for kicking my ass.

Thank you for completely changing my outlook as to what the future holds for me at 40 years, 60 years, and beyond.

Thank you for letting me truly believe that now I don’t know when “beyond” will end.

Most of all, thank you for being you. (You’re kind of a big deal.)

All my love,

Lissa

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Open Letter to My Trainees/Workout Partners/Gym Buddies

  1. Thank you for that letter! Love you back!

  2. Ali says:

    Thank you for being such an awesome coach! I appreciate you – and this letter!!

Leave a Reply

