Taken down a peg or two…or five…

Hello blogosphere!

This past weekend myself, boyfriend, and a number of other CrossFit Brigaders made our way down to a Garage Games competition at CrossFit Dahlonega (GA). The Garage Games are a series of CrossFit competitions throughout the year, with cumulative points totaling up to result in big cash for those who do well. Naturally, this means that the competition is usually, well, pretty frickin’ fierce, as it usually is when there are monies involved. Not to mention lots of great vendors and all the CrossFit body coveting that goes on (or is that just me? :P)

Needless to say, I got my butt handed to me on a platter. I went and competed in the big girls’ division, Rx, and I managed to come in 9th out of a field of 10. These ladies were so impressive, and amazing to compete next to, that I am totally cool with finishing where I did. I held my own, for sure, finishing all eleven events (you can see them here), and even doing pretty well on a few of them.

Overall we had 9 athletes compete. Check it out!

The one thing that this video can’t convey to you is how extremely cooooooooooolllllllldddddddddddbrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr it was that day. We arrived at 8 AM and it was a balmy 39 degrees. For an all-day, outdoor event, it was a little tough!

Overall, I had a blast, and was proud to be able to add one more notch to my CrossFit belt. There are lots of these every year, and while I’ll probably always be in the bottom half in these tough competitions, it will be fun in the future to see my progress.

But next time, I’m waiting until it’s warmer to compete!! 🙂

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

