Hey y’all! (That is never going to sound natural coming out of my mouth)

Greetings from the Noogs! Ian, kitteh, and I made the loooong 20 hour drive down and are settling in nicely to our new home. The movers will be arriving shortly, I hope, with our things, but for now we have some furniture and cooking things, as well as some food, so we’re making the most of it. Ted is even relaxing finally; the drive down was not very nice to him! I swear, you don’t know the true meaning of the term “hairy eyeball” until it’s being given to you by a cat for ten hours at a stretch. 😛

We have so much exploring to do! Tonight we’re going to Atlanta to see a Braves game (AWESOMENESS). I forgot to bring my Red Sox hat, bummer. Ian thinks this is a good thing. I naturally informed him that it would’ve been fine since the Braves are an NL team, but he doesn’t believe me. He’s a little too smart for his own good, I think 😛

Our apartment complex is on the tip top of small mountain in the Tennessee Valley. The trees obscure our view of the city and the river, but the area is quiet, and there are two pools and a tennis court, so I’m not complaining (much 🙂 ). So many grown-up things happening around here, like the purchase of a washer and dryer (is it bad that I am wicked excited to do laundry???), kitchen table, and general things that we can do now that we are older. I think I actually said to Ian at one point yesterday that he didn’t “need to buy a Target dresser; come on now, you’re not in college,” but that may have been his imagination.

We also have discovered that we have, between the two of us, an uncanny ability to aim and hit exactly where we are going to the city at all times without much in the ways of directions. Where’s that appliance store? Oh, it’s right next to us at this stoplight! How do we get to the furniture depot? What, continue right down this road we’re already on for less than one tenth of a mile? Score! The beautiful Tennessee River helps to center us, so whenever we know the location of the river and the gorgeous Chattanooga downtown, we’re good to go.

We did have to look up directions for our new gym/home, CrossFit Brigade. Luckily for us, it’s just right down the mountain :). The gym is new and starting up, but has great energy, and the owners are very committed to forging elite fitness, as we say :). They also asked if I wouldn’t mind perhaps helping out while I look for a job. They asked me this after knowing me for 2 hours. We’re gonna like this place! Already in two days we have done a workout with handstand pushups and a benchmark WOD (see my “Benchmarks” page for the explanation) called “Barbara,” so there clearly will be NO SLACKING at CF Brigade. Just the way we like it 🙂

I’m itching to get stitching and bitching again soon (have a special project in mind, as well as a short-sleeve cardian for myself), so I hope that truck with my box o’ yarn gets here soon! And while outside it may be too hot to hold and knit wool, the wonderful deliciousness of AC in the apartment makes me want to grab some needles and get crackin.

Happy almost-September to everyone, and y’all come back now, ya hear?

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

