Been a while…

Hey all!

Or should I say hey y’all, as I will be shuffling off this Maine coast in three weeks and moving to Chattanooga, TN! That’s right, I’ve neglected the blog big time, with lots of behind the scene reasoning being hiring movers, thinking about packing, and doing little trips in the area to make the most of my last Maine summer.

As a corollary to the move, as boyfriend and I are going primarily for his job, I am now…duh duh duh…unemployed. It’s a weird feeling, and one that hopefully won’t last for very long, but also a time for reflection and taking stock of my life (and massive amounts of applications 🙂 )

Ian is so good about keeping me grounded. It’s important for me to remember that yes, while we are going to be on a budget for a while, and yes, we may have to live a little differently than we are used to, we are also both exceedingly lucky and blessed, and I need to keep in mind some simple facts:

1. 50% of Americans would not be able to come up with $2,000 if they had to, even if given 30 days to do it;

2. Roughly 40% of Americans will live at or below the poverty line during any span of 10 years, with 13-17% a any given time;

3. Nearly 20% of young Americans between the ages of 18 and 24 are in “debt hardship;” the average American college graduate has $20,000 in debt when they graduate;

4. and, Tennessee residents have one of the highest average individual credit card debts, at just around $7,000.

Now, I’m not highlighting these facts to wax poetic about my own financial situation; money is a private thing, and mine will remain that way. It’s just important to remember, I think, that even when things seem tough, or crunchy, or freaky just by the virtue of so much being uncertain, chances are that in the grand scheme of things, I’m doing just fine. Hug your loved one, hug your cat, and if you know where your next meal is coming from, where it’s going to be served, and that place happens to be a place that you reside in and are responsible for, you’re doing ok too.

We should all be so lucky.

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Been a while…

  1. Sara says:

    Lissa, this post is very timely. I’ve been feeling a little stressed about finances lately myself, not necessarily because there is reason for me to, but just because I’ve got a little of the “worry” gene from Pops! It’s important to keep things in perspective….plus, I had a dream last night you gave me $20,000. Kinda strange! See you this weekend… 🙂 ❤

    • ahoytheship says:

      Ah, the worry gene…I (and Ian!) know it all to well! Glad to hear we’ve still got some of that sister telepathy 🙂
      Although you really WERE dreaming when you thought I might give you 20K 😛
      See you soon!

  2. Tara says:

    Rissa…I have to admit I haven’t been keeping up with your blog or even you so much (I know you understand cuz that’s the kinda friends we are…right?) but this was an excellent post! This summer has been rough on Tyler and I as well with finances and job uncertainty so I know how you are feeling right now. I was lucky enough to be hired for the second year at WCU and I know you too will be so lucky. After all we are Gettysburg Grads! 🙂 Glad to hear the move went well and you are settling in down south. Also I saw a novel at Target and it made me think of you…it was simply called “Maine.” Miss you Rissa!

Leave a Reply

