FRANNNNN

So, yeah. Apparently I now suck at posting. Sorry.

In my defense, I have been very busy lately for a very important reason. Crazy as it sounds, for those who follow my blog and know how much I love Maine, soon I will be shuffling off this mortal coastline and moving to ol’ Dixie.

That’s right, Boyfriend and I are moving to Chattanooga, Tennessee! It’s a long time in the making and planning, which is why I’ve been a little a lot off the grid lately. The prospect of being unemployed in less than a month (we’re moving for Ian’s job), not yet having a place to stay, and also not really knowing much about the area has made us a little, well, crazy. Plus we have to tranq the cat for the drive, and well, the blog has slipped to the back burner.

I did take some lo-ver-ly photos the other day of a frittata that I made (which I will show you soon enough,) less because of the frittata part and more because it contains delicious, natural, Maine-raised pork that I found where?

A) The farmer’s market

B) Whole Foods

C) The back of some dude’s van

D) Hannaford’s

If you picked D, ding ding ding, you are the winner! (Not the van, dudes, even I have standards, and that’s saying something!) I’m thrilled to discover that the local mega mart, while having a large organic section to begin with, is now finally jumping on the local and sustainable protein wagon. Go Shop’n’Save Hannaford’s.

This gives me lots of hope for good local food in Chattanooga as well. There is a Whole Foods there, but more importantly we’ve found lots of CSA’s and farmer’s markets in our research. I don’t anticipate that our way of eating will need to change much at all (well, maybe less lobster).

But look, I know you’re going “Why is this blog post titled Fran? Who is this Fran lady? Isn’t that the name of an 80-year-old nana?” Well I’ll tell you who Fran is.

“Fran” happens to be one of the upper echelon benchmark workouts in CrossFit. They say that you’re not a “real” CrossFitter until you have a Fran time. Fran is deceptively evil in that it is quick, but no matter how long you’ve been doing CrossFit, no matter how you scale it, or no matter how fit you are, Fran will kick you in the balls. Period.

Fran (you can see this on my Benchmarks page, up there at the top. Go ahead. I’ll wait.) is a workout known as a descending ladder with two elements, namely thrusters and pullups. You must complete 21 thrusters (65 lbs for girls, 95 lbs for guys), then 21 pullups, then 15 thrusters, 15 pullups, and finally 9 thrusters, 9 pullups. It’s short, intense and brutal.

We did it at CFCB today, and as of March 20, my time was 7:30. Not bad, certainly respectable, but not amazing.

Today, less than three months later, I got a time of 5:59. Sub six minute, and 1:30 faster than my previous try. Still not elite, but hot damn, was I excited! I never thought I’d ever go sub six, and especially not with that quick an improvement. I took the board for girls today (except for Noelle, one of the experienced trainers), so I am wicked pumped.

Next stop, 5:30!

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FRANNNNN

  1. Pingback: Perspective | boxstitchandboxjumps

Leave a Reply

