Spring+softball=Super Sundays

Hello Blogosphere. I have a confession to make.

Remember waaaaaaay back in December, when I was talking about how much weight I had gained over the holidays, and how weight is ultimately just a number, and I decided to throw away my bathroom scale?

Yeah, um, about that. I might have fibbed a little, and actually kept the scale. You know, to weigh my cat. True story. (He’s clocking in at 11.5 pounds these days, but I swear like 2 pounds of that is fur).

But, since it’s around anyways, I do every other day occasionally weigh myself, and so all I’m gonna say is, dudes: a scale is a useful tool, but I think we as a society should not ever weigh ourselves after a vacation. Just got back into the Primal after a week off, and well, gee. My body likes to turn bread into fat like nobody’s business. It came off after a week of clean eating, but I am always amazed at how well the human body can hang on to excess carbs.

Anyhoo, it’s May 1, and that means the softball season has begun again. Hooray! This is my third season with TEAM BALCO, three-time defending Casco Bay Sports Class A League Champs, what what! Last year, we took the championship in thrilling fashion, winning 2-1 over a very good team, the winning run driven in by a late-inning RBI by yours truly. I don’t want to brag, because I am not a big hitting machine and it was a great stroke of luck, but man, that win felt GOOD.

Today’s win also felt good, because it was against that very same team we beat in the championships last year, and we pulled out again in the end, 12-11. I have been very curious to see if my game will have improved at all from a year of solid CrossFitting. It was hard to tell with the throwing, but I did have a ripping line drive into the outfield (caught, unfortunately, by a guy with an 80-foot vertical leap) that felt very good coming off the bat. I predict that my hitting will have improved, as well as my recovery time, in terms of muscle soreness. I’ll report back soon 🙂

And just to end on another high note, here’s a picture of some YUMMY shepherd’s pie I made a few weeks back, and instead of mashed taters on the top, I used mashed celery root.

Grass-fed beef, organic carrots, peppers, garlic, and onions, salt, pepper, and chili powder round out the dish. Saute everything but the celery root in a cast-iron or other bake-proof pan on medium until cooked. In the meantime, peel, boil and puree the celery root with organic cream, pasture butter, and some organic and free range chicken broth. Spread the celery root in a thick layer over the meat mixture, sprinkle with paprika, and put under the broiler on high for 10 minutes, or until golden brown and delicious.

HIGHLY recommended 🙂

piieeeeeee

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

