Spring!!!

We ran outside yesterday in our CrossFit WOD. Can’t say as I’d ever thought I’d be excited to do 400m sprints again, but I truly missed stretching my legs, I guess. And my legs certainly needed to be stretched, since we did heavy backsquat work and then did a metcon of 4 rounds of 400m sprint and 50 air squats. Yowza! I wasn’t as sore today as I thought I would be, but in my hamstrings I was definitely tight.

Today was much lighter, well, especially for me, since it involved stuff I’m still trying to limit myself on because of my shoulder. Bench press (got up to 3 reps at 88lbs) and then alternating tabata of ring dips and burpees. I did the dips at a stationary rack and with an assistance band, but was still able to get some good work in. I went to the doctor yesterday just for a checkup, and he said that I should probably just keep doing what I’m doing in terms of home shoulder rehab, since it seems to be working, instead of going to therapy. He also said if I had truly torn anything major, it wouldn’t be improving much at all, and would ultimately need surgery.  So, points for no surgery!

Another thing we talked about was the much-in-the-news issue of Vitamin D deficiency. I told him that I consume a 5,000 IU pill daily, and to my surprise he immediately said, “That’s probably not enough.” I think where I’ve been at fault in my thinking is that I have done a lot of my research on the topic based on folks like Mark Sisson and Robb Wolf, both folks who live in California. Well, duh, Lissa, of course they can get away with 5,000 IU pills; they get more Vitamin D naturally than we in the Northeast! I had some blood taken, so we’ll see where my levels are at, but I think ultimately I’ll need to get some higher-dose supplements.

And finally, speaking of supplements, my sister and brother-in-law, owners of CrossFit Craic in Dedham, Mass, recently turned boyfriend and me on to this organic, Maine-sourced protein whey powder for our after-workout refuels. Even better, it comes from grass-fed cows. Score! We’ve only tried the vanilla flavor so far, and it’s wicked sweet, actually, but tasty nonetheless.

I still might call the company and see if they can tone down the Stevia, however; I felt like my teeth might fall out of my head!

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring!!!

  1. saramcevoy1 says:

    I agree, props to the stronger.faster.healthier protein. I’ll have to get you some chocolate to try, definitely not as sweet. But hey…it’s even BETTER than organic…it’s grass-fed!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

