Seriously????

Haha. Very funny, Mother Nature. A snowstorm on April Fool’s day, surely you must be jok-

Oh. Okay then. Well played, Mother Nature. A little on the nose, though, perhaps?

Yesterday I did wall climbs in a workout for the first time, and boy, are those difficult! A wall climb is essentially when you start in a prone position on the floor, feet touching a wall, and then back your body up the wall until you’re in a handstand position with your chest touching the wall. It looks something like this (I’m the chica with the pasty white legs fourth from the left):

Look, I'm a monkey!Whew! I think one of the biggest things about this move is that it’s very disconcerting to be in the handstand position with your front to the wall. I kept feeling like I was going to flip forward onto my back, especially when I was getting tired (we did 20 of these, in addition to 40 dead hang (band-assisted) pullups).

It’s also one of the few moves in CrossFit where I don’t really see the functional, real-world application. I mean, for crying out loud, who in the hell is going to ever use this as a way to go UP something? I can maybe see it as a way to train yourself to go DOWN an incline (when you return to the floor and starting position), but certainly not up.

In any rate, it’s actually wicked fun, once you get the hang of it, and great work for your arms.

Plus, we all got to pretend we were monkeys, and who doesn’t like that?? 🙂

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

