Don’t worry, I’m still here!

Hi blogosphere!

Sorry I’ve neglected you lately. Life has sort of punched me in the face recently, both from my long work hours right now (11 hour days and some Saturdays, ungh), as well as my old friend, Seasonal Affective Disorder, or SAD, rearing his ugly head. Some think SAD is a crock o’ you know what, but it’s something I’ve battled since college, to varying degrees of intensity from winter to winter. I’m not going to claim that I’ve got it really bad, but normally I’m a chipper, happy person, who during other times of the year besides January and February does not tend to burst into tears for no apparent reason.

Regardless, we can explore the SAD issue another time, because something wonderful happened this past Saturday: my gym is holding a Paleo/Zone Challenge for the next 8 weeks, and we got to meet up and learn more about it at a seminar, as well as have our body fat percentages measured. Fun!

Here I am sporting my newish tank, Strong is the New Skinny. I thought it appropriate to wear since getting strong and sexified is the whole point of this challenge, in addition to losing fat and eating healthier. Ian and I, as you know, have been eating mostly Paleo for over half a year at this point, and I currently am the smallest and lightest I have ever been in my adult life, so I don’t know how much more I’ll lose on the challenge, but I’m excited to see what the elimination of dairy from my diet will do.

I was also really excited to get my body fat measured, as I hadn’t had it done in over three years, and back then, when I was still eating the Standard American Diet (or, SAD, coincidentally!), it was 30%!! Yikes! By most metrics, 30% for a woman my age is still in the “healthy” or “acceptable” range, but only just. This time around (while I must admit, I am not 100% sure of the accuracy), I clocked in at only 19.7%!!! What a difference! Using the same metrics, that means I am now solidly in the “fit” range, and either on the cusp or very close to the “athlete” range. Wahoo! I can only imagine how much of this has been a result of the change in lifestyle over the past year, and it just makes me even more pumped to see what will happen in 8 weeks, when we’ll be measured again.

Ian (measuring at a slim and sexy 10.6% body fat) agrees:

Rock on!

Overall, it was a packed house for the nutrition and injury prevention seminar at CrossFit Casco Bay, and we have the owner, Adam Nelson, to thank for it.

He’s so happy to help us all get fit. Thanks, Adam!!!

And finally, since I can’t seem to finish a blog post without posting a pic of a pet, here’s Loki, official mascot of the gym.

Good boy

For those of you who want to learn more about the paleo diet/need a little inspiration, here are a few good places to get started: The Paleo Diet, The Paleo Diet Lifestyle, and for awesome recipes, try The Foodee (click on “blog”).

Happy eating!

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

