Updates

Update number 1: Knitting

It’s been a few weeks since I first posted about the Laminaria shawlette I’m making. Back then, it was teeny tiny and looked like nothing. Check it out now:

Laminaria

That’s right, it….still pretty much looks like nothing! I think the most exciting thing about this picture is that Ted’s more interested in the bag the yarn in is rather than the knitted thing itself. Sniff, my little man is growing up. 🙂

Shawlette in progress

Believe me, you’re looking at 15+ hours of work right now. Lace knitting is so much fun because it really looks like knitted poo until it’s finished and blocked, or in other words, made damp and then stretched to dry with pins holding it down. It’s fun for the knitter since at the end it’s almost like “Surprise! That pile of crap you’ve been making? It’s actually really pretty!” Stay tuned for more…

Update number 2: Fitness

I really need to bring my camera to the gym! Nothing huge to share, other than I was able to do some deadhang pullups today and my shoulder feels awesome. Woot woot!!!

Update number 3: Sick boyfriend

Go ahead. I dare you not to take one look at him and go “Awwwwww.”

Poor thing :(

Update number four: Food

Ian and I are starting a more Paleo-style diet. For those not in the know, Paleo and Primal diets basically espouse to the idea that humans evolved for eons to eat as hunter gatherers, and since that it’s only in the last 10,000 years or so of our existence that agriculture has existed, our bodies haven’t adapted to accommodate the insulin increases that come from consuming things like grains, legumes, and processed sugars. Primal, the diet we follow at the moment, allows for a little cheating, as well as some dairy and sugar. Paleo, on the other hand, cuts out most processed sugar as well as all dairy products.

This switch for us shouldn’t be too difficult in that we already eat mostly Paleo anyway, with the exception that I do enjoy cheese. We may have it every once and a while as a treat, but for now, no dairy in the house. Except butter. Butter’s one of those tricky Paleo foods that some say is no go, as it comes from milkfat, and others say go for it, since it’s created as to have practically no lactose or protein left in it. I love the stuff, so I’m going with the latter 😛

To that end, I made baked stuffed peppers for dinner last night (recipe borrowed and modified from Girl Gone Primal). Andouille chicken sausage, green onion, yellow onion, baby portabella mushrooms, two eggs (one per pepper), cumin, duck fat (I’m going to be sad when that’s gone!), and salt and pepper constitute the stuffing. Crammed into yellow bell peppers, they baked at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes, or until the tops started browning.

Ready....

.

...set...

....eat!

These were SOOOOOOOOO good, and very filling with not much food. They were slightly complicated for such a small meal, however, so I may save this recipe for special occasions from now on.

DELICIOUS!

It was also amazing how sweet the roasted peppers were, and how nicely they contrasted with the spicy Andouille sausauge. I guess this is what happens when you shy away from processed foods/sugar: everything tastes better!

Happy weekend, all, and for a life prompt: do one thing tomorrow that makes you feel like you’re five again, and post it to the comments. Trust me, you’ll enjoy it! 🙂

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Updates

  1. carly says:

    M and I went with W outdoors in the snow for a slippery walk! Felt like we were 5 when Windsor encouraged us to also start eating the snow, and sticking out our tongues to catch a flake or two as they fell 🙂 The peppers looked delicious! And I’ve also been storing my bacon fat to flavor up veggie sautees, etc! Love you!

  2. saramcevoy1 says:

    Today I ran around the apartment chasing/being chased by John, screaming and laughing. It was awesome…though I have to admit that is most definitely NOT a one-time thing 😉

Leave a Reply

