Snowed in!

Today was a snowday, in all senses of the word. The East coast was hammered with a large squall. Around my neck of the woods it didn’t result in as much snow as they thought it might, but it was still enough to keep offices closed and me housebound for the day, especially since CrossFit Casco Bay was closed as well. As such, Ian and I decided to move the coffee table when he got home and do a quick little bodyweight workout:

10 rounds for time of:  Pushups x 10, Situps x 10, Air squats x 10

Time: 10:22.6

Whew! That was a little burner! We don’t have abmats, so my butt was sliding around a bit on the situps, but other than that it worked out well. I’m also happy because even though my shoulder with the rotator cuff injury has been stiff the last few days, the pushups in this workout didn’t twinge it much at all. I seem to finally be on the mend!

Afterwards, I pulled out my 10 lb dumbbells and Ian and I practiced some Turkish getups (and yes, I am in my pajamas):

I had never actually done these before (!), so it was good to work on technique using the low weight. I’m excited to try these out with more weight at the gym.

With most things, if you want to get better at something, you need to read and research constantly, in order to learn. To that end, from time to time I’m going to share with you all some other bloggers/professionals out there whom I read and gather tons of information from, be it fitness, food, or knitting. To start, meet Tony Gentilcore. He is a fitness professional in the greater Boston area, and not only is he very good at what he does, he’s hilarious and a great writer to boot. I’ve read through most of his archives, and I find his posts funny and helpful.

And finally, I’ll leave you with this delightful image of what sugar soda does to our bodies, courtesy of another fitness blogger (and fellow CrossFitter), Jen Sinkler. Blech!! 😛

About ahoytheship

A true-blood Mainer living and loving life through CrossFit, food, and fiber arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

